Happy Release Day, Elise Cyr!

I am delighted to welcome Elise Cyr, fabulous Lyrical Press sister author, to my blog to celebrate her new release!

Thanks so much for hosting me on my release day, D.B.!

Please tell us about your new release, Elise.

siegeoftheheart_FinalAbout Siege of the Heart:

He fought for king and country, but that battle was nothing compared to the one he’ll wage for a woman’s heart.

Still reeling from the news of her father’s death during the Norman Conquest, Isabel Dumont is unprepared when trouble arrives at the castle gates. Alexandre d’Évreux, a Norman knight with close ties to England’s new king, has arrived to secure the land and the loyalties of the Dumont family. Desperate to protect her people, Isabel strives to keep the confounding knight at arm’s length and hide the truth about her father’s death.

For Alexandre, the spoils of war come with more than just a generous gift of land. They come with Isabel Dumont. Vowing to marry only for love, Alexandre finds himself in a difficult situation as a conqueror granted dominion over the land and its people. Isabel is the one person capable of helping him win the regard of those living in the war-torn country…if he chooses to accept her.

Just when Alexandre finds a spark of hope that he and Isabel have a chance at love, she vanishes. His quest to find her plunges him deeper into the conquest’s fallout. Was she taken? Or did she leave?

CONTENT WARNING: Entering into this novel may cause extreme affection toward knights of old, admiration for strong-willed women, and the overwhelming belief that love really can conquer all.

http://lyricalpress.com/siege-of-the-heart/

Ooooh, it sounds like a wonderful read (goes to add it to my Kindle queue). So now for a bit of fun Q&A.

How do you balance life and writing (yes, I’m always looking for advice on that!)?

Hmm. Finding balance is important, and something I struggle with all the time. When I first started out, my goal was to do something writing-related every day, whether it was drafting, revising, researching, or critiquing my colleagues’ work. Add in commitments to my family and friends, time has a way of disappearing. Even more so the further along I get in my career.

Now, I’m fortunate enough to have built a life with the help of my family that supports my writing time. Even though there are days where it feels like nothing gets done, I know the next day I’ll have a chance to get caught up. I do place limits on the time I spend online and basically don’t turn on the TV until the evening. All that helps, but it’s hard not to feel like you’re not doing enough. I think that’s part of being a writer, though—if you didn’t feel like you were constantly behind, would there be any incentive to keep producing and honing your craft?

Sounds like you have a great support system and plenty of discipline. Random question just for fun – dark chocolate or milk?

Dark chocolate—the higher the cacao percentage the better! I need caffeine by way of coffee or tea in the mornings, but by mid-afternoon, chocolate is my go-to pick-me-up.

I may write about medieval times, but I have no illusions I could live back then, especially since chocolate originated in the Americas and didn’t reach Europe until the 16th century. If you need an excuse to indulge, check out these health benefits to eating chocolate.

I‘m with you there, Elise. Couldn’t live without chocolate, and I consider it a health food. Top three absolute favorite romance books?

Oh, that’s tough. How about auto-buys? Anything by Joanna Bourne, Jennifer Crusie, and Meljean Brook’s Iron Seas Series.

I LOVE Jennifer Cruise, and I’ll be checking out the other authors on your list. This is one of the great things about author interviews – more great reads! Thanks for sharing your release day with me! I look forward to reading Siege of the Heart.

file0001492858701 (2)About Elise Cyr:

I’ve always loved adventure, romance, and happy endings. I write primarily in the medieval period. Because there’s still so much we don’t know about that time in history, the writer’s imagination is essential for fleshing out the research and making it come to life on the page. Plus swords and castles are just plain fun.

I live in New Mexico with my husband and the sweetest dog ever. When I’m not writing, I hike, bike, cook, and (of course) read.

Follow me on Twitter, Pinterest, Goodreads, or check out my blog.

Image by Clarita from Morgue File

11 thoughts on “Happy Release Day, Elise Cyr!

  1. No warning necessary. From one medieval writer to another, I’m already a lost cause as regards those knights, castles and ladies.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Release Day for Siege of the Heart | Elise Cyr

  3. Congratulations on your release. This novel is already on my Kindle, waiting patiently for its turn. I’d never thought about a world without chocolate. Makes me shudder. Poor medieval people. So deprived.

    Like

  4. Congratulations to Elise! And such a fun release day interview! I am really enjoying Siege of the Heart and reading it fast – wonderful mood, and characters.

    Like

Leave a Reply

