Welcome C.D. Brennan!

I’m pleased to welcome Lyrical Press (imprint of Kensington Publishing Corporation) sister author and all-around amazing woman, C.D. Brennan, to my blog. With a penchant for sweet romance tales set in far-flung locations, C.D.’s stories will truly inspire her readers to love where they roam. Her most recent release, A World Apart, features an Aussie gal searching for her roots in Scotland, an enchanting land that’s tops on my list of dream destinations. C.D. also happens to host one of my favorite romance blog series, Sundae with Nuts – do check it out if you enjoy delving into the deliciously naughty little minds of romance writers. It’s great fun and wildly entertaining! I know, as I’ve taken a turn in C.D.’s hot seat.

 

Here’s the scoop on A World Apart, along with the two gorgeous covers:

She left home to find herself…and found love along the way.

Lizzy travels to Scotland to track down her roots, hoping where she comes from will help her figure out where she needs to go. An Aussie girl through and through, tough as nuts and a bit wild, she believes there’s nothing so wonderful as a world seen through wine-tinted glasses…

…until she meets Hottie Hamish, Bridge of Allan’s most eligible bachelor.

Hamish is Lizzy’s polar opposite in every way. He’s serious, driven, and motivated, focused on becoming the youngest associate professor at the Glasgow School of Art. But he’s hiding a social phobia behind his gruff exterior that makes it almost impossible to connect with people…

…until he meets Lost Lizzy, all sunshine and lightness, an Australian beautyScreen Shot 2014-04-14 at 6.06.59 PM with the proverbial heart of gold.

Where they come from may be worlds apart, but atop a Scottish Munro, they begin to realize where they’re going is best traveled side by side.

CONTENT WARNING: Graphic descriptions of haggis ingredients.

A Lyrical Press New Adult Romance

 

And…here’s my own review:

If you like your New Adult romance sweet with a side of sass, then this book is for you!

Sassy and fun-loving Aussie Lizzy Jensen is living the dream, backpacking around the world in search of adventure, and, of course, herself. She lands in Scotland on a quest to find her roots, slinging pints at the Queen’s, shabby tavern and favorite watering hole for the Skene brothers, for a bit of extra cash. Hamish Skene is a highland dream, aside from his perplexing standoffish and awkward interpersonal skills. Still, when he comes to Lizzy’s rescue after a scuffle with one of the Queen’s less gentlemanly patrons, she’s intrigued enough to accept his job offer. Hey, she could use the money, and there’s something beneath Hamish’s aloof exterior that inspires the free-spirited Aussie lass to dig a little deeper.

But can a blue collar wanderer who’s never even gone to university really make a go of it with a gruff, upper crust Scottish professional firmly rooted thousands of miles from her home down under?

I enjoyed this lighthearted read, chock-a-block full of Aussie-isms, Scottish burrs, and contented sigh-worthy romance.

 

And now for a little Q&A with C.D.:

How do you balance life and writing (yes, I’m always looking for advice on that!)?

I don’t! There is no balance (LOL) I squeeze it in when I can. I try to do at least a few sentences a day before I crash and burn in exhaustion, but honestly, if I want to seriously write, I make word goals and leave the house. Hubby will watch the boys for a few hours and I’ll go the coffee shop. If I try at home, I’m opening myself up to “I’m hungry, I want something to eat” from my 5-year old (his meds make him always hungry) or tugging from my 2-year old while at the computer “Show me” which really means HE wants to show me something. Sometimes I write at night but that time is all now spent reviewing subs for my day job. I do lots of reading by Kindle, even when walking the treadmill or around the house or in the car…J I heard there is an audio program that will read the book to you. My next step. But you know what? This has inspired me to write again. Often, I do chunks. I’ll be motivated for a month and then take a month break. I am now setting my word goal (714.8 words per day – doable) for my rugby book – Paraic, hopefully done and out by Rugby World Cup next year. Ach, better get going!

 

I feel your pain on trying to write with wee ones hanging off your legs! Don’t sell yourself short, though. It sounds like you’ve got a better system than you realize. Hooray for multi-tasking! Random question just for fun – dark chocolate or milk?

Milk chocolate, dark is too healthy for a person LOL

 

I’m a dark chocolate kind of gal myself, but that just means we can have a ball splitting goodies in the variety pack, LOL! Top three absolute favorite romance books?

Oooh boy. That’s a hard one as I’ve read so many. I’ll say The Alchemist by Paulo Coehlo, Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen and Bleak House by Charles Dickens (yes, I’m a classics fan). They are all romances, honestly J As for mainstream romance, no chance at picking favorites. I don’t even have favorite authors, really. My preferences seem to change constantly, and that has much to do with what place I am in my life at the moment. And that’s why I firmly believe there isn’t one book for everyone, because a certain book may resonate with you much stronger than another, depending on who you are loving, what you are dreaming about, if you are looking for magic and escape or true life depicted.

 

Oooh, I’ll have to check out The Alchemist! One of the perks of these interviews is getting great reading recommendations to support my book addiction. Thanks for that, and thanks for hanging out with me!

To learn more about C.D. Brennan, check out her website. You can also find her on Twitter, Facebook, and Goodreads. A World Apart is available now from:

AMAZON   AMAZON UK   AMAZON AUSTRALIA  iTUNES   B&N   KOBO   BOOKWIRE

 

In the meantime, here’s a short excerpt for your reading pleasure:

Just as Lizzy had determined that she would be brave and take his hand, Hamish leaned into her. “This song they are playing is called Flower of Scotland.

“It’s beautiful.”

“Aye…it’s our song.”

Lizzy leaned in closer, her eyes buried deep into the Scotsman’s, mere inches away. “Ours?” It came out a whisper.

His eyebrow rose in question. “For all the Scots…for you, too. It’s one of our unofficial national anthems.”

“Oh…righto.”

Embarrassed, Lizzy looked away from him to the dance floor. She was surprised no one was dancing, only a few remained at the edge in small groups, laughing and talking animatedly. That’s where Hamish should be.

The lights in the room had finally been dimmed to get ready for dinner, and servers went from table to table lighting the candles.

“Will you dance with me?”

“The ceilidh doesn’t start until after the dinner.”

“Who says we have to dance when everyone else dances?”

9 thoughts on “Welcome C.D. Brennan!

  1. Hi D.B. and C.D! Hahaha. Ok, just had to say it. 🙂 A World Apart sounds like great reading to me. I love books set in exotic locales and Scotland is on my list of must see places. So is Australia, we’re headed there in 2015. Can’t wait! In the meantime I’ll keep dreaming and reading about places I haven’t yet seen and be happy when I discover another traveling author to enjoy!

    Like

    • Hi Monica, thanks for stopping by! I lived in Australia for five years and I know you’ll enjoy it. Hope you’ve planned to see a bit of the outback where the “true” Aussies live LOL (that’s because I lived way out in the bush)

      Like

  2. Great to see you here, Monica!

    Yeah, the initial game is great fun, LOL. I’m so excited for your trip to Australia!!! It’s on my list of dream destinations, too, and I can’t wait to hear all about it! And I’m sure C.D. can give you some insider tips for what to see and do down under.

    Like

Leave a Reply

